Diane von Furstenberg

Diane von Furstenberg has always been one of my designer heroes.  I was a teenager when I was gifted her ‘Book of Beauty’ (which is sadly now out of print).  Her sage and timeless guidance from the 1970’s is still relevant today.  I can just imagine DVF lounging in one of her signature wrap dresses coolly dispensing counsel over a cup of Earl Grey.

DVF looks fantastic in this 1970’s photograph taken by Ara Gallant.  I love the spotty tights and pose.  The picture completely captures and celebrates the dynamic era of the 1970’s and all what was gritty and exciting.

 Galella-219smaller1

I especially like this quote from her:

‘The girls who were unanimously considered beautiful often rested on their beauty alone. I felt I had to do things, to be intelligent and develop a personality in order to be seen as attractive. By the time I realized maybe I wasn’t plain and might even possibly be pretty, I had already trained myself to be a little more interesting and informed’.

Leave a Reply

