‘My seams straight?’

monroe

‘Some Like it Hot’ is a great 1959 screwball comedy, it’s one of my favourites, an oldie but a goodie, a film that taught me how to walk in high heels. When I wear back seamed hosiery I’m always reminded of Marilyn Monroe as Sugar Kane.

This is my favourite part;

Sugar Kane: ‘All the girls drink, it’s just that I’m the one who gets caught. The story of my life. I always get the fuzzy end of the lollipop’.

(Sugar puts the flask back in her garter belt and turns her back to Josephine and Daphne showing her legs off. The two men stare transfixed).

Sugar Kane: ‘My seams straight?’

Daphne (played by Jack Lemmon): ‘I’ll say’ (giggling at the view).

Rumour has it that Marilyn Monroe would have one of the heels of each of her shoes shaved down slightly so that no matter how she stood she had a sexy little curve to her hips.

There’s no reason you can’t do the same.

Leave a Reply

